Laura's Diary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

The Latest
archives
Contact Laura
ART
Laura’s Books
Laura’s Audiobooks on Mixcloud
Laura’s Audiobooks on YouTube

1900 ( 7 P.M.) - Tues. 10.20.09

Culinary Arts school-Tampa,Florida

I started my culinary arts training effective this morning. I arrived here in Tampa,FL on Sunday October 18, 2009. My DBS counselor wanted me to take the greyhound bus then a taxi, so i called the director of this training told him and he redirected me to a shuttle which takes me from my home in port richey to the hotel in Tampa,FL where the training will be taken place. I will graduate from this on Friday October 30, 2009.

So far, the training, classroom for the first few days is awesome, the instructors are really compassionate. I even got a roommate who is next door to me, she is also going through the training with me as well.

This morning, was the beginning our of 'hands on' training with culinary arts at the hyatt hotel here in Tampa,FL. our first day. It was nice, we both went to an alembly line and get 300 plates ready to serve a banquet that was this morning. So we did that, met all the staff, who were nice to us. they loved Yager, my guide-dog. The executive chef, greeted us with pleasure, he commented on the video of yager and I, Thank you goes out to the Thompson family for doing the video. Love you guys.

After the assembly line was complete, and 300 plates where done, me and my roommate where directed, and delegated to go back to the hotel in the kitchen, where we were put in different departments to get geared up for the lunch to go out to another banquet.

I was put in the vegetables, cutting them up. celery, bell peppers, cucumbers etc. you name it, i cut it up. the soux chef who was our 'boss' so to speak was just not compassionate. according to her what I made today during training. you have to make food appear pretty for all to buy, otherwise, why would people even bother spending money on food that looks bad?? at least that's how the soux chef put it to me during the training this morning, first day and she's like this??? YES.
and telling me that as far as she was concerned i was not artistic enough, was not creative enough, that people spend whole lotta money yata yata yata, if i heard it once, I heard it too many times, she was coming up to me with her chesure cat smile, asking me if everything was OK, when the minute before she just yelled and made a big deal because, I did not core the cucumber right, according to her everything food wise must be 'Perfect'. and here i am thinking, Nothing is perfect, not ever her the soux chef.

bottom line, me and my roommate feel the soux chef, she was on her High Horse. and usually people who are on there high horse, fall hard and when they do, will realize how disgusting they were. if she is nasty to me and my roommate then she's nasty to all else, and she's unhappy with herself.

anyways, me and my roommate will be in culinary arts training until 30 of October 2009.

other than school my roommate and I are living life, going to the sites of tampa,fl and enjoying the fresh air when we get a break from school.

I also was told that, every time this training is occurring, the director of this school has one student who he thinks is inspiring enough. that He gets Fox 13 news channel to come down and do some story about every class that goes on. and the student this class, is ME. I found out about this on Sunday when i arrived. the reason for this is because the director of this culinary arts school here in Tampa,fl finds the news very depressing and so to liven it up, he picks out One student from each class who he finds to be of inspiration and that's it, he gets the news out there and they do a story. This will be taking place on Tuesday, October 27, (next Tuesday, a week from today.) Fox 13 will be out at the Hyatt hotel and then after filming this story of me and Yager it will then appear on Fox 13 news channel 2 weeks later. so when i get those exact dates i will inform you.


0 comments